Tue. May 18th, 2021

Ministers Mukabaramba, Nyirasafari appointed Senators

The Ministers  Espérance Nyirasafari and Alvera Mukabaramba who  have been holding dockets of  Sports and Culture and state minister for Local Government in charge of  Social Affairs respectively  have been appointed by President Paul  Kagame to join  the Senate.

According to the constitution, the head of state appoints eight of the 26 Senators that form the senate, the crucial body in the legislation system of the country. The appointment goes in line with the principles of national unity, representation of the historically marginalised groups and or, the constitution states, other national interest.

Other presidential choices for the Senator positions include Dr. Augustin Iyamuremye and François Habiyakare. The other four will be appointed next year when the sitting Senators complete their term.

Under the Consititution, the Senate unlike the lower chamber does not dissolve instead new members join in which highlights its critical role of safeguarding national values.  The Senators serve a five year term and renewable once.

Meanwhile the Electoroal  Commission  announced the other 16  Senators who were elected on Monday with two from Northern  Province, Eastern, western and Southern Provinces elected three each while Kigali city had one

Of the 16 elected senators, one is from the City of Kigali; two come from the Northern Province, while each of the other three provinces picked three senators. The other four were from public, private institutions and Consultative Forum of Political Organizations with each voting two.

Here is a list of the full senate

Presidential  Nominees

Augustin Iyamuremye

Espérance Nyirasafari

François Habiyakare

Alvera Mukabaramba 

Incoming Senators

 John-Bonds Bideri                                                                 

Fulgence Nsengiyumva

William Ntidendereza                                                                          

Cyprien Niyomugabo                                                                        

Ephraim Kanyarukiga                                                                       

Pelagie Uwera                                                                              

Laetitia Nyinawamwiza

Marie-Rose Mureshyankwano  

Emmanuel Havugimana                                                                

Adrie Umuhire                                                                                 

Nkusi Juvenal                                

Salama Uwamurera   

Innocent Nkurunziza                                  

Senators Remaining

Zephry Karimba

Chrysologue Karangwa

Charles Uyisenga

Consolee Uwimana

Margaret Nyagahura

Jean D’arc Mukakalisa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *