Mon. Aug 3rd, 2020

South Sudanese President names 9 former rebels in new Cabinet

South Sudanese President Salva Kiir and First Vice President Riek Marchar (PHOTO/Net)

By George Kalisa

South Sudanese President Salva Kiir on March12 finally announced a new government of national unity that brings together former rebel Riek Machar Teny Dhurgon’s Sudan People’s Liberation Movement and Army in Opposition (SPLM/A-IO) and the opposition. The announcement took place late in the day.

The appointment was in accordance to the September 2018 Revitalized Peace Agreement that emphasizes power sharing among others.

Nearly a month ago, former rebel leader Riek Machar was sworn in as First Vice President of South Sudan for the third time, a key step towards the restoration of peace in the country that has hosted civil strife for years.

Key ministries like the Ministry of Defense and Ministry of Petroleum went to SPLM/A-IO. Angelina Teny, wife to Riek Machar was appointed the new Minister for Defense becoming the first woman to occupy such a sensitive political position in the history of South Sudan.    

Of the 35 ministries, Salva Kiiri’s ruling party, Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) party got 20 ministries while the former rebel group (SPLM/A-IO got nine.  

South Sudan Opposition Alliance got three while two ministries went to the former detainees and one to the other political parties.  

South Sudan gained its independence from Sudan in 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *